Exploitation Presentation

For part of this first module we were given an assignment which was a 10 minute presentation, on a theme in which we had been assigned as well as photographers we were given to research.

After researching all six of the photographers I chose that Larry Clark and Sally Mann exploited more in my opinion.

During my presentation I argued the point that Sally Mann exploited her children through her work. She used them as a benefit to her work which benefitted her greatly financially. Her images take her children’s’ childhood’s and corrupt them. I think how she presented her children through her photographs was unfair on them, they were all under the age of 10. For example her photo of Jessie’s cut was taken of Mann’s daughter and published in 1985. I think the photo make the audience interpret it incorrectly, and the way Mann has photographed makes it appear as if her daughter is in pain and suffering when actually she is just getting stitches. I argued this is full exploitation as her children aren’t old enough to understand and can’t fully give their opinion on the work their mother is producing.

I then juxtaposed my argument  for Larry Clark, I argued that yes his photos are highly explicit but did he take these photographs to  enlighten the world to what was happening with the youth in America at this time and how they get caught up in drugs violence and sex. His book Tulsa eploited the truth to the nation as the truth shocked them. I argued along side him saying that if he didn’t photograph the harsh topic and reality would the world actually realise how young people spend their time?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment